Wednesday June 20th, 2012


I found out yesterday that someone in Hollywood is doing a remake of the French movie “Intouchables”.

Official poster of the movie Intouchables

If you don’t know what that is, this is the second best selling movie in the history of France. It went out this winter, and it stayed in theaters for several weeks if not several months. I talked about it before when we went to watch it Francois and I.

I have already heard of successful French movies remakes, so I was intrigued to find out more about the subject. It turned out that the Americans are more interested in redoing French movies than the opposite. You can find a full list here (if you want you can also check the smaller French remakes list here).

For me this proves only one thing: French have better scenario ideas than Americans :P (and seeing a few of the remakes, I also believe they write them better :P) I just can’t wait for the American “Intouchables” version to be out. I wonder what they will change in it; especially that the handicaps situation is a very inn subject in France now, so I’m curious to see if it will have the same effect on the American audience.

What do you think, are French originals better, or do you prefer the American touch to the movie? And what do you think might be changed in the Intouchables’ remake?

See you tomorrow!

Comments
5 Responses to “Wednesday June 20th, 2012”
  1. Oster's Mom says:

    Great lists you linked to. Thanks for all of my new recommendations. I prefer the French originals better. Things do get lost in translation!

  2. DilAvek says:

    I dont know … I thought roxanne with steve martin was better than cyrano de bergerac … but that could just be my taste in movies…

    • I have seen Roxanne a long time ago, so I don’t really remember it, but I don’t think we can call it a remake of the movie; it’s a different interpretation of the book.
      You might be right, it might be better, I can’t really say I haven’t seen both of them in a long time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

