Wednesday August 17th, 2011


It’s not so difficult living in France, one just has to get used to it. At least for me it’s not difficult since a lot of the daily habits don’t apply, like going to work every day for example.
One of the things you need to get used to in France is driving. I know I already talked about this before, but I got into a car today so I was thinking about it again. For me, a Lebanese used to driving in a country without rules, driving in France is going to be very tough. I know the street lights, the driving signs, but I never drove with them (at least not with most of them).

For example today we were driving, and there was a red light, but everybody kept driving. I was surprised, how is this happening? It turned out there is another light on the right blinking: if it is, you can go straight; if not you have to stop. Since it was blinking when we were passing by, we continued straight without minding the red light.

For sure I cannot drive in Lebanon like I drive in France. In Lebanon if you’re stopping on a red light and there are no other cars passing from the other sides, the cars behind you will start honking: “Drive! Can’t you see nobody’s passing?”

But there are some habits I can take back with me to Lebanon, like for example paying attention to the environment. Nowadays, in the markets in France, you can buy big bags to put your stuff in. These are reusable bags; you do not throw them away. Next time you go to the market you take back this bag with you and fill it with the things you’ll buy. In Lebanon these bags still cannot be found. Each time you go to the market, your groceries and purchases are placed in plastic bags; so you come back home each time with a bunch of bags that you don’t know what to do with. Most people reuse these in the garbage bins, or for other purposes, but can you imagine the number of bags you end up with each time you go to the market?! I’m taking my Auchan and Carrefour bags with me to Lebanon to use them, I assure you! I’m fed up of coming back home with I don’t know how many things to carry!

Another habit I should benefit from is Recycling. Right now we’re still not sorting our garbage, but today I took the decision to do it. I’m going to write on small papers what each ban should contain, so that we start to learn what to place where. When we go back to Lebanon we’ll do the same. It’s true that almost nobody cares about the environment in there, but we have to start somewhere; and I’m going to start it with myself.

I will send you pictures tomorrow of the small recycling papers I will prepare, this way you can learn how to do it yourself in case you don’t know how to either 🙂 Until then, I’m gonna go to bed.

See you tomorrow!

Comments
4 Responses to “Wednesday August 17th, 2011”
  1. tania says:

    Sandouraaaaa ds mon supermarche favori “Metro” il y a les reusable bags:) a 2000 LL et tu les amenes avec toi a chake fois:D Mais le probleme je ne sais pas combien de gens le font, il faut faire une campagne…

    • Ah bon? C’est bien ca! Mais je ne pense pas que trop de gens les utilise. Apres tout, si tu vas prendre ton sac au marche, et le remplir toi meme et le porter a la voiture, le Bangladais va rester sans travail le pauvre 😛

  2. I was very happy to seek out this net-site. I wished to thank in your time for this glorious read! I definitely enjoying each little bit of it. Can I simply say what a reduction to find someone who actually is aware of what they are talking about on the internet. It’s laborious to search out knowledgeable individuals on this subject however you definitely know easy methods to convey an issue to light and make it important. Extra folks have to read this and perceive this facet of the story. I cant believe youre not more standard since you undoubtedly have the gift. however you sound like you understand what you’re speaking about. Additionally, I simply gave this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he reality is bought me breakfast outcome I discovered it for him. So let me reword that: Thanks for the deal with and for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love studying extra on this topic. If attainable, would you mind updating your weblog with more particulars? Its highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog submit!

Leave a Reply

