Thursday August 18th. 2011


When you move to a new country, or perform a very big, life-changing step, you have to try and keep yourself motivated to be able to keep up with it.

It’s true that I’m working from home, so I have things to keep me busy during my days in France, but nevertheless, I have left my house, my friends and my family to come here with my husband. So I need things to keep me from thinking about them all the time.

The first thing I found was this wonderful blog. Let me tell you that this is the best thing that happened to me since I came here. All I think about all day is: what should I talk about today? Wherever I go, whatever I do, I try to work out in my head how I will write it and how I’m going to tell you all about it.

The second thing I found it yesterday: sorting the garbage. I already told you about this yesterday, and today I put in action. I went to a website (http://tri-recyclage.ecoemballages.fr/comment-trier-ses-dechets.htm#/le-guide-du-tri/ (sorry it’s in French)) to learn about what should go where, and I prepared a paper for us to keep remembering this. This way each time we want to throw something, we just need to look at the paper; is it in there? Then it goes in this bin. If it’s not then it goes in the other one. I took a picture of the paper for you (again, sorry it’s in French).

List of items that go in the recycling bin

Francois was laughing at me, because as I said, in Lebanon people don’t really care about recycling. The garbage is sorted after it’s collected from the people’s houses; it’s not done individually at home. But personally I think that since we have the opportunity to change, and participate in a good deed, why not go for it.

Not much to tell you today; except that I cooked noodles with vegetables for lunch. The first time I prepared this meal I did it for myself when I was still in Lebanon and I found it a real success. It was the first time I cook something and I find it really delicious. So I did it again for Francois and his friend today. But the thing is that we finished the whole before I could take a picture 😦 so I’m gonna show you an old picture I have from the first time I tried this dish.

Noodles with vegetables

That’s it for today. I won’t be busy with work tomorrow as I was today, so I might go for a walk in the afternoon and come up with fresh new stories.

See you tomorrow!

Comments
2 Responses to “Thursday August 18th. 2011”
  1. The friend says:

    Although not a big fan of Chinese food, vegetables in a larger sense, or the whole “zen/green-tea” philosophy, I still have to say it tasted wonderful. Thanks a lot for the invitation.

Leave a Reply

