Saturday October 29th, 2011


Tonight was out first sushi experience since we got here.

We’ve had sushi in France in our previous visits, and we know they’re not as good as what we have in Lebanon, but we’ve been missing it so much we decided to go anyway (besides the restaurant we went to had good reviews so we said it’s worth it). The trial was not bad, not the best sushi we had, but it was a good one after so long.

The most important part is that the whole outing gave me a new subject to talk about.

The employees in the restaurant (whether they’re Japanese or Chinese or whatever) had a very bad French; and this made me think about the country we’re in right now: how do they allow these people to come in? Shouldn’t “French speaking” be the first test in order to get a working visa?

I’m no racist, don’t get me wrong. But the way I see it is: if I want to go work in another country, the first thing I look for is: do I understand what they’re saying or not? Can I have a decent conversation with the people in this country?

How difficult was their situation in the country they were living in so that they decided to go into this adventure? You’re going to think I’m a spoiled brat to be talking like this: I’m Lebanese and a lot of my fellow citizens just hoped on a boat and went to whichever country would accept them in order to get away of the war and the dark days.

That’s true. But think of it the other way around: during the war, France accepted all the Lebanese that came to her, as well as all the other people from all the other countries, due to their bad conditions. But now France is regretting what she did. She has foreigners (or people from foreign descendant) more that she has French natives, and some of the politicians are even requesting to throw away some of them (they already started last year). So now that they got to this point, shouldn’t they become more selective? Do you agree with me now that “French speaking” should be the first test before you come in and work in the country? (I’m not talking about the people that get in illegally, because these are another story)

This is a very big subject, and talking about it can take forever. So I will leave you with this now, tell me what are your thoughts about it.

See you tomorrow!

Comments
4 Responses to “Saturday October 29th, 2011”
  1. tania says:

    Of course it should! In whatever country you decide to live, you have to integrate and become part of it…

  2. tania says:

    Btw we had sushi too on saturdayyyy, it was yummy:)

  3. Magnesium says:

    Immigrant acceptance process is drastic right now: even qualified people are forbidden of a work permit and almost systematically.
    Note that France felt some debt toward its ex-colonies and had to open its frontiers.
    I think they can still do better the information technology age to be able to treat on case-by-case basis.
    “A Change Is Gonna Come” (Sam Cooke).

    • Welcome back Magnesium, we missed you on the blog 🙂
      Are you sure it’s that drastic? the waitreses in the restaurant seemed very young; so either came into the country recently, or they were born here. And their French was very bad in both cases.

      Personally I hope that the change is coming, because this feeling of guilt didn’t do any good for France. But again, this is just my humble opinion, I’m just a visitor I’ll be leaving soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

