Tuesday November 22nd, 2011


You know what’s the advantage of working for a country and living in a different one? You can be on holiday while the others are all at work; so you can start your Christmas shopping at ease without the rush of the stores on Saturday 🙂

Today is the Independence Day in Lebanon, I celebrated this by waking up late and going shopping in Lille. Happy Independence everybody! 😀

While I was walking in the city, and after having looked at some of shops in Paris with my sister on Saturday, I understand now that Christmas in France is all about gifts and materialistic stuff. Remember I was asking about the meaning of this holiday here in France last week? Well now I know: it’s not about the birth of Christ, not about the spiritual side of the holiday, but only about the commercial side.

I took some pictures of the display windows of “Galerie Lafayette” in Paris to show you what I’m talking about: no Nativity scene, no religious signs; only clothes, shoes, and items you can buy for yourself or as a gift.

The windows are amazing, I’m not saying the opposite. You can see that somebody spent a lot of time to come up with them; the details in each one is scary. And the people around them! There was such a big crowd, one would think somebody famous was passing by. But no, it’s just the famous “Galerie Lafayette”  display that people wait from one year to another to see what the mall has thought of.





I don’t understand how the Vatican considers the use the condoms un-Christian, and they don’t prevent the commercialization of the birth of Jesus. Can somebody please explain this to me? It seems my experience in France is turning out to be an experience in life 😛

See you tomorrow!

Comments
One Response to “Tuesday November 22nd, 2011”
  1. TheFriend says:

    Dear Sandra,

    You’re welcome.

    Sincerely,

    Life

Leave a Reply

