Friday November 25th, 2011


When I was still in Lebanon, I used to tell my friends living outside the country that they should not be reading the news; they should be trying to separate themselves from the headache of Lebanese politics and its ups and downs.

Believe it or not, ever since I came here I can’t help myself from reading the news every morning. Since the minute I wake up, something inside me itches and pushes me to open the online newspapers to find out what’s going on.

When you’re away, you’re always worried about your friends and family still at home, so you want to make sure that everything is still the same as you left them. But everybody knows that politics in Lebanon are pain: the same people are in charge since forever, and we all know that it’s not us who decide, everything is decided for us by “foreign forces”. So even though our news has a lot of turmoil, the whole country continues to live in its own way. Lebanese are so fed up with this side of their life that they prefer to forget about it and worry about things they actually have control of.

The problem is that when you’re away, everything will look more serious than it actually is. Since when you’re in Lebanon you stopped worrying about politicians and what they’re up to, paying attention to them again will bring back this feeling of stomach ache and concern that you had forgot when you were back home.

Once when Francois was already in France and I was still in Lebanon waiting to move here, he sends me a text message asking about an armed conflict happening on the streets of Beirut; but I didn’t even know what he was talking about! It must have been a fight between neighbors, and the media liked to sauce it up a bit (like they usually do) by telling people that a group of armed men were fighting in the streets of the capital. So poor Francois was here worried about us, while we were there living happily and minding our business.

The same thing happened to me today. As always I read the news in the morning, and while I was chatting with my friend I started asking her about the situation where she is because as always the news I read were spiced up so I was worried. But my friend was as amazed as I was; she didn’t know what I was talking about!

This is when I decided I will stop reading the Lebanese newspapers from now on, and I will focus more on my Christmas decoration (at least this one does not need any “foreign forces” to decide on the outcome :P)

See you tomorrow!

Comments
3 Responses to “Friday November 25th, 2011”
  1. tania says:

    Jaime bcpppppppppppppppppppppppppppp

  2. Magnesium says:

    Stopped long ago reading news.
    I prefer your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

