Saturday May 12th, 2012


When Francois first told me that we’ll be living in Northern France for the current year, and specifically in a town called Roubaix, I was reluctant: what is this town that I have never heard of before? Is it like these small French villages we see in movies that have no stores and people sleep at 8pm? Does it even appear on the map?

But when I got there I found out that I was totally misled. Roubaix used to be one of the richest cities in France, and today it’s a very known name in Fashion and Design (they have 2 big fashion schools).

Another asset in the town is something called “Maison de la mode” (house of fashion). It’s a project that helps new designers by marketing their brands and items, in their stores based in Roubaix and Lille (you can find out more on their website).

Twice per year, in the spring and in the fall, the house exhibits the creators items during a whole week end to show the people the new season’s releases.

I suppose that from this whole introduction you guessed that the event was taking place this week end, right? 🙂

I’m not a fashionista myself, but how can I miss such a big thing happening only 10 minutes away from my house? So I went there yesterday, and as soon as I put my foot inside the exhibition area, the cloths-shoes-accessories-loving-girl hidden deep down inside of me emerged to the surface to be able to properly swim in this enormous display of colors and shapes! The designers might be young and somehow new in the business, but the items presented were definitely worth any of the big names now on the market. Who knows, maybe next time I’ll fly straight from Lebanon just for this occasion 😛

First exhibition part: “Le Vestiare de la Piscine de Roubaix”

Second Exhibition part: ENSAIT university, Roubaix

Exhibition’s posters (the current one is the 20th)

So if you live in the area, or maybe you don’t live in the area but you’re a fashion victim, make sure to pass by Roubaix this week-end; this thing is definitely not to be missed (mode details are available on the Facebook page).

See you tomorrow!

Comments
3 Responses to “Saturday May 12th, 2012”
  1. Magnésium says:

    This is the place to scout new designers! Nice post! I thought Roubaix was only known for the paris-roubaix bike race! Now we know!

    • For YOU it was only known for Paris-Roubaix, but actually Roubaix was very famous for its textile factories and it was an important French Resistance base during World War II 🙂

      • tania says:

        I am so gladdddd I went thereeeeeeeee with youuuu although before the exhibtion:) An too bad I missed it:( Maybe i’ll fly with you next time just for this occasion as well. And also for the butter in the food… yummyyyy(H)

Leave a Reply

